Gates open at 8.35am. Please ensure your child is in class ready for registration at 8.45am. Home time for all children is 3.15pm.

What are the SEN " Areas of Need"?

In the SEND Code of Practice the government have divided SEN into four main areas:

Communication and Interaction

  • Children and young people with speech, language and communication needs. Children and young people with ASD – including Asperger’s and Autism also fall into this category.

Cognition and Learning

  • Including moderate and severe learning difficulties through to profound and multiple learning difficulties. Also includes specific learning difficulties such as dyslexia, dyscalculia and dyspraxia

Social, emotional and mental health difficulties

  • Includes children who have difficulty in one or more of these areas.

Sensory and/or physical needs

  • Children and young people who require special educational provision because of their disability. This includes vision and hearing impairment – or multi-sensory impairment – and some children with a physical disability who may require additional support to access all the opportunities available to their peers.

 Updated September 2022